Account

Why am I seeing a 'Hello, neighbor' message when I'm trying to add a new user in my account?

Last updated: November 1, 2017

Available For:

Marketing: Free, Starter, Basic, Pro, Enterprise
Sales: Free, Starter, Professional

When creating a new user in your HubSpot account, upon entering the email address, you might come across a message reading:

Hello, neighbor. This user's name is already in our system because they've had a HubSpot-associated account at some point in the past. If their information needs updating, they can change it themselves in their Profile and Preferences

This message indicates that the email address is either currently associated with a user in another HubSpot account or was associated with a user in another HubSpot account at some point in the past. The user's first and last name will populate automatically based on the email, and these fields will be locked.

To add the user to your account, click the Next button and proceed to set up their user permissions, assign them to a team, and send them a welcome email. For full instructions on adding a new user, please click here.

Once the new user is created and logs into HubSpot, they can navigate to their Account Menu > Profile & Preferences to edit their first and last name (full instructions on this here).

Was this article helpful?