Workflows

What happens to the contacts waiting in a workflow delay when I delete that delay?

Last updated: November 1, 2017

Available For:

Marketing: Pro, Enterprise
Sales: Professional

Deleting a delay can play out differently for your contacts depending on where the delay is within your workflow, and if there are other delays further down in the workflow:

  • If the delay you delete is the first action in your workflow, the contacts that were already in the delay will wait until the end of the deleted delay as originally scheduled, then proceed through the workflow.
  • If the delay you plan to delete is not the first action in your workflow and there are other delays in the workflow, the contacts who were already in the deleted delay will wait until the end of the deleted delay as originally scheduled, skip the action(s) following the deleted delay, and proceed to the action following the next delay. 
  • If the delay you are deleting is not the first action in the workflow, and there are no additional delays further down in the workflow, the contact will wait until the end of the deleted delay, and then be unenrolled from the workflow.

To learn what happens when you change the timing of one of your delays, check out this article

Was this article helpful?