Skip to content
Settings

Deactivate HubSpot users

Last updated: January 13, 2022

Applies to:

All products and plans

When a user leaves a company or no longer needs access to the company’s HubSpot account, users with super admin permissions can deactivate users rather than removing them. This allows you to preserve the user’s historical activities without losing access to important data. 

When deactivated users are reactivated, their historical activities like property changes and content updates will still be available.

Please note: before deactivating a user with a paid seat, you should remove their seat. If the user owns any assets or is included as criteria for a filter (e.g., workflows), you should also manually remove them from those tools. Deactivated users will be skipped when using the rotate record owner workflow action.

To deactivate a user: 

  • In your HubSpot account, click the settings settings icon in the main navigation bar.
  • In the left sidebar menu, navigate to Users & Teams.
  • Click the name of the user.
  • Click the Actions dropdown menu and select Deactivate user.

Deactivate_user-1

  • In the dialog box, click Deactivate user.

Deactivate_user2

  • The user will receive an email indicating their profile has been deactivated. 

To reactivate a user: 

  • In your HubSpot account, click the settings settings icon in the main navigation bar.
  • In the left sidebar menu, navigate to Users & Teams.
  • Click the name of the user.
  • Click the Actions dropdown menu and select Reactivate user.

Reactivate_user

  • In the dialog box, click Reactivate user.
Reactivate_user2
  • The user will receive an email indicating their profile has been reactivated.