Contacts

What happens to a contact whose HubSpot Owner gets deleted?

Last updated: January 5, 2017

Available For:

Marketing: Basic, Pro, Enterprise
Sales: Free, Professional

After deleting a user that owns contact records within your HubSpot account, a couple of things will occur on the contact record:

  • The HubSpot Owner property on a contact record you may temporarily see a number value (the internal ID number associated with each HubSpot Owner) in place of the former HubSpot Owner's email address. Deactivated User ([deleted user's email address]) will then be displayed until a new value is selected or applied. 

  • The timeline in the contact record for some activities may temporarily display a blank space or retain the former owner's email address. This will then change to Deactivated User ([deleted user's email address]).
  • If the account is synced with Salesforce and the user who is removed from HubSpot is still a Salesforce user, the user's name will be displayed as Name (Salesforce), as it does for SFDC users who never had HubSpot access.

Before you delete a user that owns contacts, it's wise to use a HubSpot workflow to set a new HubSpot Owner by adding an action to Set a contact property value > HubSpot Owner > choose the name of your new HubSpot Owner. Learn more about this here.

Was this article helpful?