There are a few possible reasons why your call recording with the HubSpot calling tool did not save on a contact's timeline:
Call recording is disabled
The ability to record calls is an account-wide setting, affecting all users who are making calls in the account. It can be enabled/disabled using HubSpot's free sales tools or in your HubSpot Sales Hub account by clicking Settings in the main navigation bar, then navigating to Sales > Calling in the left sidebar.
Here, click the toggle switch on or off beside Enable recording. If this setting is disabled, the Record button will not appear when making a call. If you are not seeing the option to record, check with the other users in your portal to see if they have turned this setting off in their account. To learn more about this setting, check out this article.
Recording required two-party consent
Some areas have two-party consent laws, which basically means both parties (the caller and the contact receiving the call) must consent to the call being recorded. If you're often calling numbers from U.S. states that do not require two-party consent, you may be used to your calls recording by default without you needing to click the Record button when making the call.
However, when calling one of the 13 U.S. states or placing international calls where two-party consent is required, you must click the Record button. In the pop-up box that appears, you must select I have informed them to confirm you have obtained consent from the recipient to record the call.
If you do not click the Record button and confirm you have consent, then the call will not be recorded.
Recording was turned off before the call ended
The time at which the system confirms if a call recording will be saved is at the moment the call is ended. If the Record button is red when the call ends, the call recording will be saved. However, if the recording is turned on at the beginning of the call and then turned off before the call ends, that recording will not be saved.
To record your call, make sure the recording button is on when placing the call, and do not turn the recording button off at any point during the call. Once the call ends, click the Save button so the call and the recording is saved to the contact's timeline.
Recording was manually deleted
Any user with access to the contact timeline can delete a recording by clicking the delete trash can icon next to the recording and confirming the deletion in the pop-up window that appears.
If a recording you previously saw on a contact timeline is missing, we recommend speaking with any users in the account who are also working with that contact to see if they deleted it.