Workflows

Turn off workflows

Last updated: September 19, 2018

Applies to:

Marketing Hub
marketing-pro-enterprise
Professional, Enterprise
Sales Hub
sales-pro-enterprise
Professional, Enterprise

If you no longer want the actions in one of your workflows to execute, you can turn it off. To do so, navigate to Automation Workflows, then click the name of the workflow. In the top right, click to toggle the Workflow is ON switch off.

Depending on the record type your workflow is based on, HubSpot will handle the records differently:

Contact workflows

When you make a contacts-based workflow inactive, contacts already in the workflow will continue through the workflow and will be scheduled for actions, but no actions will be executed while the workflow is turned off. You will see a message in the workflow's History tab for each action set to execute while the workflow is turned off.

  • Example 1: A contact has just completed action 1 in your workflow, and they are scheduled for action 2 to execute two days later. You make the workflow inactive, then two days pass and the scheduled time for action 2 arrives. Because the workflow is still inactive, action 2 will not execute for that contact. The contact will continue to the next action, scheduled delay, or will complete the workflow if there are no more actions.
  • Example 2: A contact has just completed action 1 in your workflow and they are scheduled for action 2 to execute two days later. You make the workflow inactive, then one day passes and you activate the workflow again. One more day passes and the scheduled time for action 2 arrives. Because the workflow is now active again when the action is scheduled to execute, the action will execute for that contact. The contact will continue to the next action, scheduled delay, or will complete the workflow if there are no more actions.

If your workflow is inactive and contacts meet the enrollment criteria while it is inactive, they will not be enrolled in that workflow. 

Company, deal, ticket, and quote workflows

If you turn off a workflow based on companies, deals, tickets, or quotes, all objects are immediately unenrolled from the workflow. When turning off the workflow, an alert will appear notifying you of how many records will be unenrolled from the workflow.

 Depending how many records were enrolled, it may take some time to unenroll all records. It won't be possible to turn your workflow back on until all of the records are unenrolled. 

Was this article helpful?

If you still need help you can get answers from the , or to contact support.