Social

Manage your social account settings

Last updated: October 13, 2020

Applies to:

Marketing Hub  Professional, Enterprise
Legacy Marketing Hub Basic

After you've connected your social media accounts to HubSpot, you can set up auto-publishing for your blog, modify sharing settings with other users, and edit email notifications for social posts.

You can also add links to your social media pages on your HubSpot template with the Follow Me module, and connect your Bitly account to HubSpot to use your own branded short domain when shortening links in social posts.

Set up blog auto-publishing

If your blog is hosted on HubSpot, you can set up blog auto-publishing to publish a new post on your social accounts whenever you publish a new blog post.

These social posts include the blog post title, meta description, link, and featured image. The posts are published 15 minutes after your blog post is published.

  • In your HubSpot account, click the settings icon settings in the main navigation bar.
  • In the left sidebar menu, navigate to Marketing > Social.
  • In the Accounts table, click Enable in the Blog auto-publish column next to your social account.
  • In the dialog box, click the Select a blog dropdown menu and select one or more blogs.
  • Click Submit.

Learn more about blog auto-publishing in HubSpot.

Please note: blog auto-publishing is not available for Instagram accounts because links are not allowed on Instagram posts.

Give other users access to a social account

To give other users access to your social account, you need to be a Super Admin or the user who originally connected the account.

  • In your HubSpot account, click the settings icon settings in the main navigation bar.
  • In the left sidebar menu, navigate to Marketing > Social.
  • In the Share column of the Social accounts table, select the Share checkboxes next to any social accounts you want to share with other users in your account. Your changes will be saved automatically.

If you clear the Share checkbox, only the user who originally connected the account or a Super Admin will be able to see the account in their dashboard reports.

The level of access a user has to publish to a social account depends on their social publishing permissions and whether the account has the Share setting selected.

The user's social permissions For social accounts with the Share checkbox selected For social accounts with the Share checkbox cleared

Draft only

The user can create drafts.

The user can only view the social account's name in the settings.

Their accounts only

 

If the user connected the social account, they have full access to the social account (e.g., publish, disconnect).

If the user did not connect the account, they can only view the social account's name and its reporting and publishing data.

If the user connected the social account, they have full access to the social account (e.g., publish, disconnect).

If the user did not connect the social account, the user can only view its name in the settings.

All accounts

The user has full access to the social account (e.g., publish, disconnect).

If the user connected the account, they have full access to the social account (e.g., publish, disconnect).

If the user did not connect the account, the user can only view its name in the settings.

Super Admin

The user has full access to the social account (e.g., publish, disconnect).

Please note: if you select Report on posts published from all sources when you connect a Twitter account, the Share checkbox will be disabled and automatically toggled on. To enable the Share checkbox and change your share settings, you'll need to reconnect the Twitter account and choose Report on posts published from HubSpot only.


Select default social accounts to post from

  • In your HubSpot account, click the settings icon settings in the main navigation bar.
  • In the left sidebar menu, navigate to Marketing > Social.
  • In the accounts table, select the checkbox in the Default column next to a social account to select it by default when you create new social posts. Your changes will be saved automatically.

Please note: if you have a Marketing Hub Enterprise account, you can only select up to 60 default accounts to post from.

 

Confirm which social posts to include in your reporting data

To view which posts HubSpot reports on for your connected social accounts:

  • In your HubSpot account, click the settings icon settings in the main navigation bar.
  • In the left sidebar menu, navigate to Marketing > Social.
  • In the Accounts table, review the Post Visibility column for each of your accounts.

When you connect your social account, the posts and interaction data that HubSpot reports on depend on the network of the account you connected:

  • Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube: HubSpot reports on all posts from your social account.
  • LinkedIn: HubSpot reports on posts based on the type of LinkedIn account you connected. If you connected a personal LinkedIn account, then reporting data only includes posts you publish from HubSpot. If you connected a LinkedIn company page, then HubSpot reports on all of your posts.
  • Twitter: When you connect your Twitter account, you can choose whether you want to report on all your posts, or only the posts you publish from HubSpot.

Please note: if you want to change your post visibility settings for Twitter, you'll need to disconnect your social account, then reconnect it with the desired setting.

social-account-post-visibility

Manage email notifications

By default, you'll receive an email digest of interactions with your social post. Each individual user with connected social accounts can edit or disable these notifications in your social settings. 

  • In your HubSpot account, click the settings icon settings in the main navigation bar.
  • In the left sidebar menu, navigate to Marketing > Social.
  • Click the Email Notifications tab.
  • In the Inbox section, select the radio button for your email notification frequency.
  • In the Reports section, select the radio button to enable or disable a monthly email summary of all activity for your connected social accounts.