Become a HubSpot power user — join us for HubSpot Training Day 2017.

Account

HubSpot User Permissions Guide

Last updated: August 10, 2017

Available For:

Marketing: Free, Starter, Basic, Pro, Enterprise
Sales: Free, Professional

When creating a new user or editing permissions for an existing user in your HubSpot account, Admins can allow or restrict access to Contacts, Marketing publishing tools, Sales tools, and Admin actions. Learn about these permissions options below.

Contacts

By default, all users will have access to contacts. On the Contacts tab, you can set more granular permissions and restrictions: 

  • View: use the dropdown menu to the right to select which set of contacts the user is able to view based on ownership. Your options are EverythingTeam and unassignedTeam onlyOwned and Unassigned, and Owned only
  • Edit: use the dropdown menu to the right to select which set of contacts the user is able to edit based on ownership. Your options are EverythingTeam and unassignedTeam onlyOwned and Unassigned, and Owned only
  • Bulk delete: choose whether or not you'd like the user to be able to delete multiple contacts in bulk. 
  • Importchoose whether or not you'd like the user to be able to import contacts into your contacts database. 
  • Export: choose whether or not you'd like the user to be able to export contacts from your contacts database. 
  • Edit property settings: choose whether or not you'd like the user to be able to create or edit properties within your account. 

Please note: users with a View permissions setting of Owned Only will only be presented with contact records for which they are assigned as the HubSpot Owner on the contacts dashboard and in the lists tool (Marketing only); however, they can still view a contact that is not owned by them if they are sent a direct link to the contact record. 

Marketing

With a HubSpot Marketing subscription, Admins can toggle the Marketing Access switch on to set specific permissions for each marketing tool. 

  • Ads (Ads add-on only): use the checkboxes to give the user Publish or Read access to the ads tool.
  • Blog: use the checkboxes to give the user PublishWrite, or Read access to the blog tool. Please note that with Write access, users can create content within the blog, but will be unable to publish new posts or update live posts. 
  • Email: use the checkboxes to give the user PublishWrite, or Read access to the email tool. Please note that with Write access, users can create emails, but will be unable to send one-off marketing emails or save emails for automation to use in workflows (Professional and Enterprise only). 
  • Landing pages: use the checkboxes to give the user PublishWrite, or Read access to the blog tool. Please note that with Write access, users can create landing pages, but will be unable to publish new pages or update live pages.
  • Website pages: use the checkboxes to give the user PublishWrite, or Read access to the blog tool. Please note that with Write access, users can create website pages, but will be unable to publish new pages or update live pages.
  • Social publishing: use the dropdown menu to the right to choose which social accounts, if any, to which the user can publish social messages. Your options here are All accountsTheir accounts only, or None
  • Listschoose whether or not you'd like to give the user access to the lists tool.  
  • Forms: choose whether or not you'd like to give the user access to the forms tool.  
  • Workflows (Professional and Enterprise only): choose whether or not you'd like to give the user access to the workflows tool.  
  • Reporting (Reporting add-on only): choose whether or not you'd like to give the user access to the Reporting add-on.
  • Edit code templates & modules: choose whether or not you'd like to allow the user to make changes to your coded templates and modules, which appear in the Coded Files folder of the Design Manager. 
  • Content Staging: choose whether or not you'd like to give the user access to the content staging tool
  • Edit content settings: choose whether or not you'd like to give the user the ability to make changes to settings in Content Content Settings

 

Sales

In the Sales tab, Admins can click the Sales Access switch to toggle it on and grant users  access to sales tools: templates, documents, calling, messages (Sales Pro only), and sequences (Sales Pro only).  If you have Sales Pro seats available, you can choose to assign one to a user in this tab by toggling the Sales Pro switch. If you've assigned all of your Sales Pro seats, you can click Purchase another User to upgrade a user to Sales Pro. 

Please note that the prospects tool is available to any Marketing user who also has access to the HubSpot CRM as well as HubSpot Sales Professional users.

Admin

You can give another user administrative access to your account in the Admin tab. Once you've toggled the Admin Access switch on, you can specify which admin actions you'd like to allow for the user. 

  • Add and edit users: choose whether or not you'd like the user to be able to add or edit other users
  • Add and edit teamschoose whether or not you'd like the user to be able to organize other users into specific teams within your account. 
  • Edit account defaults: choose whether or not you'd like to allow the user to be able to set your account's name, languagetime zone, currency, and default date and number format in Account Menu > Settings > Account Defaults
  • Modify billing & change name on contract: choose whether or not you'd like to allow the user to make changes to your account's billing information. 
  • Edit reports ownership: choose whether or not you'd like to allow the user to make changes to ownership of reports on reports dashboards. 
  • Ability to access and adjust integration settings.

Please note: there's also a Super Admin role that has access to all tools and settings outlined in this article. Learn more about setting up a Super Admin here.

 

Partner Account

If you have a HubSpot Partner account, you will also see a Partner permissions tab when creating a new user. Here you can choose to designate a user as a Partner employee by toggling the switch on. 

A user designated as a Partner employee, with Marketing access enabled (see above), has access to partner tools in HubSpot and the user's HubSpot certification will count toward the certification number listed on your partner directory profile. 

Was this article helpful?